ubermix Basics

ubermix is designed to be a small and fast combination of the Ubuntu Linux operating system and popular open-source applications, wrapped in an easy-to-use interface that works well on nearly any screen shape or size. The cornerstone of the interface is the Activites launcher, which you can see to the right.

For the most part, the Activites launcher is relatively self-explanatory, with Favorite applications on the left, application categories in the center, and application icons on the right. Clicking on any of the application categories in the middle changes the available application icons in the right section, displaying those that match the category. Clicking on any icon in the right column automatically launches the application. As a shortcut, you can open the Activities launcher by pressing the left "Super" key (Windows key on PCs or Command key on Apple hardware), type in the name of the application you want to run, and press the "Enter" key when the application you want is selected.

On the right side of the task bar there are several indicator icons that allow you to perform a number of tasks. The default set of icons are as follows:

Display settings: Adjust resolution, position, rotation, and mirroring on all of your displays

Display an overview of all open windows. Click on the one you want to switch to. Press "esc" to exit scale overview. The hotkey for activating scale view is ctrl+alt+down-arrow

Lists open windows in all available workspaces, and allows you to switch between them.

Battery status and power settings, if applicable.

Connect to wireless networks, adjust your network settings, etc. This icon changes depending on the type of connection.

Connect to bluetooth devices (only appears if bluetooth hardware is present.)

Adjust input and output volumes, launch players, select output device, etc.

Open system settings, suspend, restart, or shutdown.

You may see additional icons task bar, depending on your hardware and currently running applications.


Additional details:

  • Ctrl+alt+t opens a terminal window at any time
  • You can switch between workspaces by pressing ctrl+alt+[left or right]arrow-key. By default, there are two workspaces. To add additional workspaces or to see a workspace overview, press ctrl+alt+up-arrow.
  • The default user account is called "user" and it is an administrator account with full access to machine settings, which allows for installation/configuration by the user without any password prompts. Should you be prompted for a password at any point, the default password is "password".
  • "Screen lock" and all the hotkeys associated with it have been disabled
  • Print screen button will do a full screen capture. To capture the current window or a portion of the screen, hold down the shift key and press prnt-scrn, or ctrl+shift+f12, if you have no prnt-scrn button. Or better yet, use Shutter, which you can find under the Accessories category.
  • Trackpad tapping is disabled by default. To re-enable, go to "System Settings" and click "Mouse and Touchpad"
  • A number of keyboard shortcuts have been changed/disabled to prevent confusion and accidental selection. To adjust these settings, go to "System Settings" then click "Keyboard"

For further assistance with basic usage of the system, click on the "Help" icon in the "Accessories" category.

How to use the quick recovery features

One of the key features of this custom build is the ability to quickly recover from problems and restore the system to a default state. This process is relatively non-destructive, as all of the user's files can be retained, should you so choose. To perform a quick restore, perform the following steps:

  1. If the machine is already off, press the power button to turn it on. If it is running, press the power button and choose "Restart" from the menu that appears.
  2. Immediately after you see the system's splash screen the screen will go black and you will see a 3 second countdown timer - press ESC during those 3 seconds to enter the boot menu. Be prepared - you will only have 3 seconds to press the ESC key.
  3. When you see the following screen, choose "Restore Factory Settings"
  4. After a few moments, you will see the following screen. Choose your option (usually will be "1")
  5. Follow any additional directions on the screen.

In a few seconds (literally) your device will be reset to a standard configuration.